December 12th, 2017
Every year books are awarded prizes for excellence. Here are some of the more famous awards and the winning books:


The Randolph Caldecott Medal - The American Library Association presents this award to the artist of the "most distinguished American picture book for children" of the past year. (Randolph Caldecott was an illustrator who lived in England in the 1800s.)

Here are some recent winners:

2012 - A Ball for Daisy by Chris Raschka

2011 - A Sick Day for Amos McGee by Philip Stead; illustrated by Erin Stead

2010 - The Lion and the Mouse by Jerry Pinkney

2009 - The House in the Night by Susan Marie Swanson; illustrated by Beth Krommes

2008 -  The Invention of Hugo Cabret by Brian Selznick

2007 - Flotsam by David Wiesner

2006 - Hello, Goodbye Window by Norton Juster; illustrated by Chris Raschka

2005 - Kitten's First Full Moon by Kevin Henkes

2004 - The Man Who Walked Between the Towers by Mordicai Gerstein

2003 - My Friend Rabbit by Eric Rohmann

2002 - The Three Little Pigs by David Wiesner

2001 - So You Want to Be President? by Judith St. George; illustrated by David Small

2000 - Joseph Had a Little Overcoat by Simms Taback

1999 - Snowflake Bentley by Jacqueline Briggs; illustrated by Mary Azarian

1998 - Rapunzel by Paul O. Zelinsky


The John Newbery Medal - This award is given annually by the American Library Association to the author of "the most distinguished American Children's book published in the previous year." (John Newbery was an English bookseller who lived in the 1700s.)

These are recent winners:

2012 - Dead End in Norvelt by Jack Gantos

2011 - Moon over Manifest by Clare Vanderpool 

2010 - When You Reach Me by Rebecca Stead

2009 -  The Graveyard Book by Neil Gaiman; illustrated by Dave McKean

2008 - Good Masters! Sweet Ladies! Voices from a Medieval Village  by Laura Amy Schlitz

2007 - Higher Power of Lucky by Susan Patron

2006 - Criss Cross by Lynne Rae Perkins

2005 - kira-kira by Cynthia Kadohata

2004 - The Tale of Despereaux: Being the Story of a Mouse, a Princess, Some Soup, and a Spool of Thread  by Kate DiCamillo

2003 - Crispin Cross of Iron by Avi

2002 - A Single Shard by Linda Sue Park

2001 - A Year Down Yonder by Richard Peck

2000 - Bud, Not Buddy by Christopher Paul Curtis

1999 - Holes by Louis Sachar

1998 - Out of the Dust by Karen Hesse


The Knickerbocker Award began in 1991. It is awarded by the New York Library Association (NYLA) and is given for an author from New York State who has written a variety of books that have "a consistently superior quality."

Have you read any books by any of these winners?

2012 - Emily Arnold McCully

2011 - Linda Sue Park

2010 - Laurie Halse Anderson

2009 - David Adler

2008 - Richard Peck

2007 - Jerry Pinkney

2006 - Leo and Diane Dillon

2005 - Margery Facklam

2004 - Jennifer Armstrong

2003 - Thomas Locker

2002 - Bernard Waber

2001 - Harry Mazer/Norma Fox Mazer

2000 - Mary Jane Auch

1999 - M. E. Kerr

1998 - Cynthia DeFelice